489 Regional Sponsored Temporary Visa

489 Regional Sponsored Temporary Visa


The 489 Regional Sponsored Temporary Visa allows skilled workers to live and work in specified regional areas in Australia for up to four years. This is also a points tested visa and applicants must obtain a minimum of 60 points from the points assessment. To be eligible for this visa, applicants must either obtain sponsorship from an eligible relative living in a Specified Regional Area of Australia or nomination from a participating State or Territory Government. Similar to the 190 and 189 Skilled Visa, the applicant is required to be under the age of 50 and must be in a position to demonstrate that that they possess a qualification or the skills of an occupation on the Skilled Occupation List (SOL).

The successful applicant under this visa will be required to live for two years and work for a minimum of twelve months in a Specified Regional Area of Australia.

Requirements: In order to satisfy labour market shortages, the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) has also provided a list of specific requirements that an applicant must meet to be eligible for this visa.

The general and basic visa requirements relate to age, English language ability, occupation, skills, qualification, health and character. In addition, applicants for a Skilled Regional Sponsored visa (Subclass 489) must obtain sponsorship from a participating State or Territory government and pass a points test.

To be sponsored by a relative

an applicant’s relative must live in a Specified Regional Area of Australia and be either:

  • an Australian citizen
  • an Australian permanent resident or
  • an eligible New Zealand citizen.The applicant (or their spouse) must be related to their sponsor as either
  • a non-dependent child – including a natural, adoptive or step-child
  • a parent – including adoptive or step-parent
  • a brother or sister – including adoptive or step-siblings
  • a niece or nephew – including adoptive or step-niece or nephew or
  • an aunt or uncle – including adoptive or step-aunt or uncle

The definition of Specified Regional Area of Australia depends on whether the applicant is sponsored by a relative or nominated by a State or Territory government. As a general indication, the following areas are considered regional:

  • New South Wales – everywhere except Sydney, Newcastle, the Central Coast and Wollongong
  • Northern Territory – everywhere
  • Queensland – everywhere except the greater Brisbane area and the Gold Coast
  • South Australia – everywhere
  • Tasmania – everywhere
  • Victoria – everywhere except the Melbourne metropolitan area and
  • Western Australia – everywhere

To be nominated by a State or Territory government, applicants must satisfy specific criteria, as set by the particular State or Territory. These may include:

  • having an occupation on the skills shortage list in that State or Territory or
  • demonstrating specialised skills in an area of need.

Applicants are required to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) via the Department of Immigration and Boarder Protections website. Once the EOI has been received, the Australian Government will then have the ability to extend an invitation for the applicant to apply for the visa. Applicants need to note that lodging an EOI does not guarantee that an invitation to apply for the visa will be received.